Timesaver

Battlefield 6 Bot Lobby XP: Do Bots Still Give Weapon XP?

Sam Okonkwo
Sam Okonkwo
Battlefield 6 Portal soldiers fighting with sledgehammers, the kind of custom rule set that earns reduced XP

Battlefield 6 Bot Lobby XP: Do Bots Still Give Weapon XP?

Less than you think, and almost nothing in a Custom farm. A public Battlefield 6 bot lobby farm stopped being a real weapon leveling tool in October 2025, and many of the codes still circulating open Custom servers that do not pay standard weapon XP. Bots still earn you something, but what you get depends on which of five lobby types you are in.

This guide covers what each lobby pays for Career XP and Hardware XP, what EA has and has not published, and how to check a server before you grind it. It applies to Battlefield 6 Season 5 as of Game Update 2.1.1.0, checked November 2, 2026. EA has not published a newer numbered update, and Phase 2 is scheduled for November 10. EA has not restated these XP terms for Season 5 or published a full Season 5 playlist list, but we found no change to them.

Quick answer: Custom Portal experiences, labelled XP Modified in the browser, earn reduced progression "regardless of whether bots are active". Verified experiences with Bot Backfill off pay full XP. Verified experiences with bots run on up to 12 bots, and EA says "Bots grant reduced XP, while player XP remains at 100%". Windows Central reported that as 10%, and EA has published no number. For weapon levels, kill real players. For challenges, bots still count in Verified and Casual play.

Correction, November 2, 2026: earlier versions of this page said there was no hidden bot XP reduction and that Verified experiences paid Multiplayer rates "whether you are shooting humans or AI". Both statements were wrong. EA changed the rules in late 2025, and this guide now reflects them.

BF6 Weapon Leveling

BF6 - BF6 Weapon Leveling

Get BF6 Weapon Leveling

4.9· 2k+ ordersSee all options
Startingbest pricesBuy now

Do bots give XP in Battlefield 6?

Yes, but less than players do, and in some lobbies almost nothing that helps a gun. EA's own wording has moved twice since launch, so the date of whatever guide you are reading matters.

The basic rule is still on EA's progression page: "All Multiplayer experiences, as well as Verified Community Experiences in Portal, grant full XP towards this progression system". That line dates to launch and survived EA's April 14, 2026 rewrite of the page. The community updates narrow it.

Lobby typeReal player killsBot killsChallengesEA source
Standard MultiplayerFull XPReduced, no published rateYesProgression guide, November 6, 2025 post
Verified Portal, Bot Backfill offFull XPNo bots presentYesOctober 24, 2025 update
Verified Portal, Bot Backfill on100%ReducedYesNovember 2025 updates
Casual BreakthroughFull progressionReducedYesSeason 2 trial guide
Custom Portal, XP ModifiedReduced progressionReduced progressionStandard rate not appliedPortal 101, October 24, 2025 update

The table covers what EA has written. EA has not published a per-kill XP table for bots, so any exact number you see, including the ones below, comes from reporters or player testing. Public matches can contain bots too. EA says Obliteration "backfills with Bots", and its July 30, 2026 update named "matches starting or backfilling with too many bots" as a concern. Its November 6 post compared the bot and player terms to "similar values to Multiplayer modes", without giving a rate.

What changed for Battlefield 6 XP farms?

Four EA posts explain why the old advice no longer works.

October 17, 2025. EA said it had reviewed the data behind full community servers. Its community update said "a large number of these servers were created primarily to earn XP, inflate player stats, and earn special accolades through defeating bots." The same post raised match completion XP by 10% and the daily bonus by 40%, and cut the XP needed for the first 20 attachment ranks.

October 24, 2025. The follow-up set a rule EA has not withdrawn: "Verified Experiences with "Bot Backfill" disabled continue to grant Full Progression and XP. Custom Experiences will continue earning reduced progression, regardless of whether bots are active." EA also removed bots from Verified Experiences for the time being.

November 6 and 12, 2025. Bots came back to Verified Experiences in Conquest, Breakthrough and Rush, with limits. Each mode supports up to 12 bots, with up to 6 per team. A match with backfill on needs 8 players to start, and a match with backfill off needs 20. EA repeated the terms in its November 12 update: "Bots grant reduced XP, while player XP remains at 100%, and all challenges remain completable."

That 8-player minimum matters for farmers. Under EA's November 2025 rules, an online Verified bot match needs 8 real players, and bots fill only part of the lobby.

How much XP does a bot kill give?

EA's published word is "reduced". The figure usually quoted is 10%, and that comes from Windows Central, which wrote that bot kills grant "significantly reduced XP (10%, to be specific)". We could not find that percentage in EA's own text.

Player reports on Casual Breakthrough vary, and none of them are official. A July 2026 r/Battlefield6 comment said "Apparently 11xp compared to 100xp for player kills", which is hearsay rather than a test. A November 2025 Steam post claimed 50 XP against 100. These describe a different mode from Windows Central's Verified figure.

If the 10% figure holds for your lobby, the arithmetic is simple. It takes 10 bot kills to equal one player kill, so a lobby would need to be ten times faster to break even. With at most 12 bots shared across both teams, a Verified match is unlikely to reach that speed.

Why does a Custom bot farm not level your gun?

Because weapons level on Hardware XP, and Custom lobbies do not pay it at the standard rate.

Battlefield 6 Portal server browser with the XP Modified label on a custom Siege of Cairo experience

EA's Portal 101 guide says anyone playing a Custom experience "will not receive the standard Career XP, Hardware XP and Mission and Assignment Progress rates." Players get a larger Career XP match completion award instead. The progression page adds that, with extremely limited exceptions, the bonus is raised "TO ACCOUNT FOR NO XP EARNED FOR THE ABOVE ACTIONS", and those actions include kills.

PCGamesN's Portal code list, last updated in November 2025, marks its codes with "Career XP: 150% Match Completion Bonus" and "Other Progression: N/A". That list is third-party and a year old, and the 150% is not an EA figure.

Battlefield 6 runs three separate tracks, and mixing them up causes most of the confusion:

  • Career XP raises your Career Rank.
  • Hardware XP is earned per weapon and per vehicle, and it unlocks attachments, packages and camos for that item.
  • Battle Pass XP is earned 1:1 with Career XP.

So a Custom farm can bump your rank and Battle Pass while the rifle in your hands barely moves. EA notes that Hardware XP also builds passively, but says this "isn't as much as performing in-game actions". If your attachments are stuck for this reason, our attachments not unlocking guide walks through the other causes too.

Is Casual Breakthrough worth it for weapon XP?

It is worth it early in a gun's life and for challenges. It is not the fastest route to rank 50.

EA's Season 2 trial guide described the playlist as 16 real players and 32 bots, with "Full Career XP, Weapon XP, and Battle Pass XP Progression, with reduced XP from Bot-related actions (e.g. downing a bot rather than a player)." It also said challenges work, but "Accolades, Dogtags, and Career Stat Updates won't be tracked." Those terms date from Season 2, and EA is consolidating playlists, so check Quickplay for what is live.

Players split on it, and both sides have a point. Bot kills pay less each, but they come faster for an average player. EA's November 12 update also says Casual gives players room to "level up weapons". One r/Battlefield6 player described a sensible middle path: "I usually bang out the first 20 levels of a new weapon in casual while I warm up with it", then moves to the normal queue. EA cheapened those first 20 attachment ranks in 2025, so that is where low-value kills hurt least.

The event mode is less clear. Marker Incursion, the Dead Space PvE mode, pits 16 players against AI Marked Soldiers and runs until November 10. EA's event guide does not state an XP rate. On Reddit, one recent post calls it a good way to level weapons, and a player in another thread says it "offers full experience for everything". Neither is official.

Battlefield 6 Vehicle Leveling

BF6 - Battlefield 6 Vehicle Leveling

Get Battlefield 6 Vehicle Leveling

4.9· 2k+ ordersSee all options
Startingbest pricesBuy now

Do Battlefield 6 XP farm codes still work?

The codes still open servers. That is different from those servers paying weapon XP.

A Portal code is an address, and the label on the experience decides the payout. YouTube titles from October 2026 still promise solo weapon XP bot lobbies in Season 5. We could not confirm any of them, and EA's rule gives you a simple test. Open the experience before you commit. If the panel says XP Modified, treat it as a Career XP lobby at best.

Note the small naming difference: EA's guide calls the label Modified XP, while the in-game screenshot EA published reads XP Modified. They are the same flag.

How do you check a lobby before you grind it?

Two checks take under a minute, and the third takes one match:

  • Read the panel. Select the experience in the Portal browser and look for XP Modified. If you see it and want weapon levels, leave.
  • Find a Verified experience. VG247 reports that EA-made experiences list BFPortalOfficial or BattlefieldOfficial as the creator, but community creators can publish Verified experiences too, so the label decides. EA's October 21 update says the Server Browser has separate Verified and Custom tiles in Portal. EA has since moved its rollout forward to start shortly after November 10, see our Server Browser guide.
  • Play one match. Compare your weapon's progress after the round. If it barely moved after a pile of kills, you were mostly shooting bots or sitting in a modified lobby.

Battlefield 6 Portal hosting setup screen for a private server

EA has not said hosting changes a lobby's XP rate, so we treat the label as the deciding factor. For solo play, EA said on October 21 that players can find "a Portal experience (like verified Conquest, for instance)" and use the "host locally" option. That answer was about playing solo. It did not state any XP rate, so test it with one match first.

What is the fastest way to level a weapon in Season 5?

Use bots for challenges and real players for levels.

  • Play kill-dense Multiplayer or a Verified server with backfill off. Kills and assists are the main Hardware XP sources, and player kills pay 100%.
  • Use the weapon you want to level. Assists count too, including from a vehicle you are crewing, but that XP goes to the vehicle.
  • Finish the match. The completion bonus pays Career, Weapon and Battle Pass XP based on time in match and result.
  • Spend boosts on real matches. Our XP boost guide covers what stacks and which boosts touch Hardware XP.
  • Do challenge grinding where bots count. EA confirms challenges remain completable in Verified bot lobbies, and our challenges reset guide covers timing.

One thing not to blame on bots: the Season 5 launch throttle. EA reverted the backend change on October 15, and our XP cap breakdown explains what happened. To see which guns are worth the grind, start with the all weapons list.

Want the levels without the lobby hunting? Here are the Battlefield 6 services that fit this grind.

FAQ

Do you get weapon XP in a Battlefield 6 bot lobby? It depends on the label. In a Custom experience marked XP Modified, the standard Hardware XP rate does not apply, so guns barely move. In Verified experiences and Casual Breakthrough, you earn weapon XP, but EA says bot kills pay less.

How much XP do bots give in Battlefield 6? EA says only "reduced". Windows Central reported 10% of a player kill in Verified experiences. Player reports on Casual Breakthrough vary, and EA has not published a number.

What is XP Modified in Battlefield 6? It is the label on Custom Portal experiences. EA's guide calls it Modified XP. These lobbies earn reduced progression and a larger Career XP match completion award, with or without bots.

Do Portal XP farm codes still work in Season 5? They still open servers, but a code does not change what the server pays. Check for the XP Modified label before you play.

Do bot lobbies count for challenges? Yes in Verified experiences, where EA says "all challenges remain completable". Yes in Casual Breakthrough too, per EA's trial guide. Custom experiences do not grant standard Mission and Assignment progress.

Are stats tracked in bot lobbies? EA's site-wide note says "Stats in any Casual or Portal mode that backfill with AI are not tracked." That covers stats such as K/D and hours played, and it is separate from XP.

Bottom line

Stop hunting for a working bot code. Custom lobbies mostly pay Career XP, Verified bot kills pay reduced XP, and player kills are the one thing EA says pays 100%. Use bots for early ranks and challenges, then finish your guns in full-XP lobbies.

This page reflects Game Update 2.1.1.0 as of November 2, 2026. Season 5 Phase 2 arrives November 10 and the Server Browser starts a staged rollout shortly after (EA update, November 3), so re-check the panel on your favorite server after each.

BF6 Weapon Leveling

BF6 BF6 Weapon Leveling

4.9· best prices

Buy now

You may also like